Favorite Songs of 2017

We are just about halfway through Blogmas (Day 12 to be exact) and I appreciate every single one of you that has kept up with daily posts and even left comments along the way. I’ll continuously thank you all. Anytime someone reads what I write, I still get excited like a little kid. Alright, enough sappy stuff, let’s get into today’s blog post. I’m sharing all my music favs of 2017. Let’s get into it.

As always, be sure to click the links throughout this post for related posts and links to purchase items/similar styles featured.

Continue reading “Favorite Songs of 2017”

This Week In Music [V. 22]: Track Overload #3

Here’s another edition of This Week In Music. As always, be sure to click the links (in bold) throughout the post. Check out what’s been covered this week thus far below:

Now let’s get into the new music that I didn’t cover this week.

With all the police brutality happening across the country lately, there have been countless artists to voice their frustration through their music. There’s been Elle Varner’s, ‘One Love’; J. Cole, ‘Be Free’; Lauryn Hill, ‘Black Rage’B.o.B., ‘New Black; and other celebrities that have shown their support via various social media outlets. T.I. has released a track titled ‘New National Anthem’. He teams up with Skylar Grey and gives his take on everything that’s going on and contradicting what we are told are rights as people opposed to the hand that’s actually dealt.

I absolutely love the track from beginning to end. I hope this makes the cut for his new album, just because. Take a listen below:


Switching gears, Tinashe  has released a new single featuring A$AP Rocky, ‘Pretend’. This is much slower than her radio smash, ‘2 On’, but similar to her other track she’s teaming with another rapper. I’m not sure how this would do on urban radio, but it could make it’s way to like 92.3 or Z100. This track definitely show that her label doesn’t want to just keep her in the R&B box and trying to merge Pop into this project. I think the sound of ‘2 On’ was a great intro to her musicality, but we all know Pop wins in this day in age.  I would like to hear more music from her without any hip hop features. Her debut album, Âquarius, will hit stores October 17th.

Check out the track below:


Teyana Taylor has released the visual to ‘Maybe’ off her long-awaited debut album, VII. The track features Pusha T and Yo Gotti. The video is like a comic strip as she’s in three different personas. The black curly hair is Teyana Taylor, the red hair is Jacqueline Mercury, and the platinum grey Marilyn Monroe hair is Greyla Greenhouse. Interesting visual she displayed.

I would love to hear a upbeat track from her with a bomb visual being that she’s an amazing dancer. Hopefully she’ll drop one before her album drops.Her debut is set to be released October 21st. via G.O.O.D. Music/Def Jam. Check out the video below:

Juicy J is back with another strip club track, ‘Low’, featuring Nicki Minaj, Lil Bibby, and Young Thug. The video is what I would expect from Juicy. Girls dancing around this time they’re just dancing around cars and motorcycles. It wouldn’t be a Juicy video without some twerking. Check out the video below:


Be sure to stay up to date on the go via Instagram: @MusicMovingForward.

Until next time…


NEW MUSIC — August Alsina x Rick Ross, ‘Benediction’

20140220-130213.jpgAs it leads up to his debut album release, R&B newcomer August Alsina, has teamed up with Rick Ross for the second single off his upcoming album, Testimony. The track is very heart felt and from the track listing I am interested in hearing the compilation that he’s bringing forth. He reminds me of a more raw Trey Songz (coincidentally they have ‘beef’) as far as song concepts. So far we’ve heard the ‘sex’ song, ‘struggle’ song and from the looks of the track listing maybe the makeup/breakup track.

Listen to ‘Benediction’ below as well as check out the official tracklisting. Testify in stores 4.22.14

Here’s the tracklisting for his album:

  1. ‘Testify’
  2. ‘Make It Home’ (feat. Jeezy)
  3. ‘Right Here’
  4. ‘You Deserve’
  5. ‘No Love’
  6. ‘Porn Star’
  7. ‘FML’ (feat. Pusha T)
  8. ‘Grind & Pay/Get Ya Money’ (feat. Fabolous)
  9. ‘Ghetto’ (feat. Yo Gotti)
  10. ‘Kissin’ On My Tattoos’
  11. ‘Ah Yeah’
  12. ‘Mama’
  13. ‘Benediction’ (feat. Rick Ross)
  14. *’I Luv This Shit’ (feat. Trinidad James)
  15. *’Numb’ (feat. B.o.B. & Yo Gotti)

Album Artwork: August Alsina, Testimony

R&B singer, August Alsina, will be releasing his debut album, Testimony, on April 15th Features include Yo Gotti and Young Jeezy with production by Drumma Boy, The Exclusives, Eric Hudson, and Jasper Cameron. This is a follow-up to his 2013 EP, Downtown: Life Under the Gun.


My soul lies within this shit! My story, my background, my culture, my heart & lifestyle lies within this shit. My strongpoints and weaknesses, my highs & my downfalls, I give you my all.. Im telling my deepest secrets, i hope you promise to keep it. 4•15•14 This one is for the REAL one’s ! The ones that’s stuck in the struggle.

Alsina is currently opening for 2 Chainz on the ‘2 G.O.O.D. 2 Be T.R.U.’ tour.