Original v. Cover [V.11]: ‘B*tch Better Have My Money’ & ‘Trap Queen’

This is a double header of Original v. Cover. I heard covers of both ‘B*tch Better Have My Money’ and ‘Trap Queen.’ Both of which I surprisingly enjoy.

Continue reading “Original v. Cover [V.11]: ‘B*tch Better Have My Money’ & ‘Trap Queen’”

Chris Brown Announces Release Date for X + NEW MUSIC

Chris Brown Announces Release Date for X + NEW MUSIC

Chris Brown has been semi-lowkey in the media as of late, but that hasn’t stopped him from working on his music. In an interview last year with Rolling Stone he talked about what was to be expected from his new project:

I tried to stay away from the Euro beats, and not go totally pop. Instead, I wanted to take the Quincy Jones approach. The record pays homage to the Stevie Wonders, the Michael Jacksons, the Sam Cookes. I wanted to put that classic essence of R&B and soul with the new age of music now.

The album was supposed to be released last July. With only few tracks reeled, ‘Fine China,’ ‘Don’t Think They Know,’ and ‘Love More,’ it was unclear as to when an album would be dropped. Well Chris just released a tweet (now that he’s back on social media) stating:


Who knows if this album will stick. Chris has been on tracks with a  slew of people and if that’s any take on what his album will sound like then eh, it’s nothing special. Chris Brown has never been the ultimate R&B singer, but his music pops (no pun intended). I’m interested in seeing if he’s going to follow in that ‘visionary’ album plan he talked about in the interview.

May 5th marks Chris’ 25th birthday and this album was said to be his last. I’m not too sure about that. Aside from that he’s in the studio working on Fan of a Fan 2 with Tyga. Here’s their new track, ‘B*tches’.

Chris Brown, X, Artwork + Tracklist


There has been NO LEAD on when this album is being released. It was supposed to be released last summer, then last fall, but with everything going on in Chris’ life right now I can see why the album has had such a delay. Don’t count him out though. He’s getting radio play for ‘Love More’ and his feature on August Alsina’s ‘I Love It (Remix)’ with Trey Songz and some others. Here’s what he had to say about the album concept and title:

The direction I wanted to go for this album was the same base I went for the first album. I had a humble mindstate of going in the studio with any producer, any writer, and trying to make a great project. I kinda put the Quincy Jones formula on it, put all of the different producers locked into one studio, and just try to make a great project. I’ll be 24 when the album comes out, so X is the 24th letter in the alphabet. It also means the roman numeral for X. I’ve been doing this for 10 years now. My birthday is 5/5/89, five and five is 10.

Here’s the tracklist (via Rap-Up)

  1. ‘Add Me In’
  2. ‘Autumn Leaves’ (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
  3. ‘Don’t Think They Know’ (feat. Aaliyah)
  4. ‘Do Better’ (feat. Brandy)
  5. ‘Feel That’
  6. ‘Fight 4’ (feat. Onibaku)
  7. ‘Fine China’
  8. ‘Home’
  9. ‘Lady In The Glass Dress’
  10. ‘Love More’ (feat. Nicki Minaj)
  11. ‘Loyal’ (feat. Lil Wayne & French Montana)
  12. ‘Counterfeit’ (feat. Rihanna & Wiz Khalifa)
  13. ‘Something Special’ (feat. Rick Ross)
  14. ‘X’
  15. ‘Wildcat’