Video Review: Tinashe, ‘All Hands On Deck’

Tinashe has released a new video for her track ‘All Hands On Deck’ off her debut album, AquariusShe had much success with her single, ‘2 On,’ but she hasn’t made quite the buzz on the radio. She did have a little something something as she was featured on the ‘Jealous (Remix)’ with Nick Jonas which had a lot of airplay. I couldn’t resist doing a review of this track. It’s catchy and so far it has over 1.2 million views on YouTube. That’s amazing for it being released this week.

tumblr_nmkd4gOxZs1tth6oko1_400The video has that semi-grunge feel to it. She has this thing of being “overly sexy.” It’s as if she’s trying so hard. The touching, the extra moving. She even channeled Beyonce’s ‘Crazy In Love.’ The video really picks up when she starts dancing in the storage units. The  choreography wasn’t bad and she was killing it. There were six other dancers in the surrounding units. It was a dope scene and made for great pictures.

tumblr_nmkd4gOxZs1tth6oko2_400The second part of the video she switched it up a little bit and had a dark ballerina vibe. Again the choreography was on point. At first I thought it was a bit redundant, especially with the arm swinging that kept happening like every other word, but it did switch up a little bit. That arm swinging just happened to be the signature of the routine. Production wise it was great. It was very entertaining to watch.

She’s sining about a broken heart and how the old her is “dead and gone.” I kept listening over and over trying to figure out what the lyrics had to do with the vibe of this video.This video didn’t feature a love interest and while I do enjoy videos that stay with the track, this vision works. Having a love interest and then breaking into dance would be the oh so traditional route. She’s coming into her own as an artist, person, etc. She’s showing viewers a side they’ve never seen of her. For a newcomer you’re under constant ridicule and someone always has something to say, but she definitely slated in this video.

tumblr_nmev1ajfQ91sk0vqbo2_250As for her attire, I really liked the outfits they put together; even the foil looking jacket near the end. The high-waisted shorts she had in the beginning of the video with the crop top was my favorite look. I also think she looks great with the darker hair.

I really enjoyed the video and this track has been on rotation since it released. There’s videos that can make a track and for me this one did. I had not listened to her album, but there’s no denying that this track is HOT! Hell, even Kanye likes it.

I had watched her performance of ‘2 On’ on Wendy Williams and compared to her performance on Conan of her latest single you can see the growth. She’s a lot more comfortable and she doesn’t sound winded. I was anticipating her vocals to be off compared to the performance I had seen, but it was good performance. I could see this track creeping its way on radio. The music just has that current radio vibe so above all else, that’s a sure way for it to make it. Looks like she has another Summer buzz coming her way. The remix features Iggy Azalea, but I prefer the track as is. It’d be nice for her to have a track that’s just her, no features taking over the radio.

Check out the video below:

Tinashe, Aquarius, Artwork + Tracklist


Tinashe will be releasing her debut album, Aquarius, October 7th and the artwork, release date, and track listing have been confirmed. The album will feature 18 track including her lead single, ‘2 On’, featuring Schoolboy Q. In addition to ‘2 On’, the album will feature and her latest single ‘Pretend’ featuring A$AP Rocky (CLICK HERE for review). Check out the tracklisting below:

  1. ‘Aquarius’
  2. ‘Bet’ (feat. Devonté Hynes)
  3. ‘Cold Sweat’
  4. ‘Night Fall’ (Interlude)
  5. ‘2 On’ (feat. Schoolboy Q)
  6. ‘How Many Times’ (feat. Future)
  7. ‘What Is There To Lose’ (Interlude)
  8. ‘Pretend’ (feat. A$AP Rocky)
  9. ‘All Hands on Deck’
  10. ‘Indigo Child’ (Interlude)
  11. ‘Far Side of the Moon’
  12. ‘The Calm’ (Interlude)
  13. ‘Feels Like Vegas’
  14. ‘Thug Cry’
  15. ‘Deep In The Night’ (Interlude)
  16. ‘Bated Breath’
  17. ‘Wild Night’
  18. ‘The Storm’ (Outro)

Listen to ‘2 On’ and ‘Pretend’ below: