Rick Ross Scores 5th #1 Album

slsTdiRThe numbers are in from last weeks music releases and Rick Ross trumps all. Rick Ross’, Mastermind, lands in at #1 on the Billboard 200 making this his 5th #1 on the chart. It sold $179K in the release which is less than that of his 2012 album, God Forgives, I Don’t, which sold $218K in its first week. His 2010 album, Teflon Don, has been his only album not to take the #1 spot. He joins DMX and 2Pac with 5 #1 albums, Nas & Kanye tie for 6, Eminem has 7 and Jay Z leads the pack with 13.

Rick Ross wasn’t the only one worth mentioning for chart position. Pharrell, Lea Michele , and Ashanti all made it in the top 10. Pharrrel’s sophomore album, G I R L, came in at #2. ‘Happy’ still tops the charts and with 490K downloads this week it becomes the highest selling digital sales track since Katy Perry’s,’Roar.’ Lea Michele debuted at #4 with Louder and Ashanti’s Braveheart came in at #10 rounding off the list.  Braveheart is now Ashanti’s 5th top 10 album.

Album Review: Braveheart

ashanti-braveheart-coverIt was 2008 when Ashanti had last released an album, but she’s back with a new material and new management. Before I even get into my favorites and what I think about the album as a whole let me give a kudos to Ashanti for taking the independent route. It’s not an easy task and due to the fact that she wears as many hats as she does that is clearly the reason behind the constant delays of this project. Despite that, I’m impressed lyrically with this album. Well, here are my top 5 (in no particular order):

The album features 13 tracks and is a great balance of ballads and club songs. My favorites are definitely the ballads. As much as I disliked, ‘I Got It,’ when she first released it simply because I didn’t think it was her best vocally, it has definitely grown on me. That’s primarily due to radio play. She’s been through a lot in 6 years as would any person. With time comes growth, loss, etc. and from that you learn and gain experience. Ashanti shares that through her music. For all those wondering about her on/off relationship with Nelly read between the lines of the lyrics; especially my top 5.

Video Review: Ashanti x Rick Ross ‘I Got It’

I reviewed this song (while still on Tumblr) in November of last year and the video is just now surfacing. Before then I hadn’t reviewed any Ashanti music since March of 2013 and that track was titled ‘Never Should Have.’ Ashanti’s catalogue has been one filled with ballads more than club songs. When I heard ‘Never Should Have’ I was excited to hear more. After initially listening to ‘I Got It’ I was not impressed at all. The song is a great marketing approach for Ashanti to get more radio play, but the vocals & concept is just boring and the same old thing every one else is doing. The video happens to be the same.

First off, this video is one of the most provocative that Ashanti’s ever released. The lyrics to the song I’m not a fan of. There’s nothing special about them. I’m not a fan of Rick Ross. I’d have to say my favorite scene was the choreo routine in and out of the ‘plot’ of the video. The plot you ask? She has whatever a guy needs, no need to emphasize hence the title ‘I Got It.’ The choreo that she was doing was basic as well. Ashanti’s never been a dancer in my eyes, but she looked FAB doing whatever she was doing and that asymmetrical cut is PERFECT on her.

The song is catchy and I could see it getting played on the radio. Had Ashanti not added Rick Ross, eh, not so much. I’m interested in seeing what else is on this album. From the two different tracks released it could be a mixture of ballads and a few club bangers. Braveheart hits stores March 4th. Check out the track listing here.

Album Artwork and Tracklist: Ashanti, Braveheart

OFFICIAL [ALBUM] ARTWORK --- Ashanti, Braveheart

Here’s the track list

1. Intro/Braveheart
2. Nowhere
3. Runaway
4. Count
5. Early In The Morning (Feat. French Montana)
6. 3 Words
7. Love Games (Feat. Jeremih)
8. Scars
9. Never Should Have
10. She Can’t
11. Don’t Tell Me No
12. I Got It (Feat. Rick Ross)
13. First Real Love (Feat. Beenie Man)/Outro

Target bonus tracks:

14. Bonafide Survivor
15. RIP

Ashanti — Braveheart — IN STORES 3.4.14